Colin Walker

on social media, tech, blogging and the internet.

Disqus comments now enabled here.

DisqusThat’s right, I have taken the plunge and enabled Disqus commenting for the blog. I was originally in two minds as to whether I should go this route, I was unsure about having the comments held away from the site but soon realised that this is a minor issue when you look at the benefits Disqus can provide.

When you also consider that the majority of the conversation is now happening out in the cloud it makes a lot of sense to also have the blog comments available in places like FriendFeed to enable additional exposure. I haven’t gone as far as adding video commenting as I don’t feel that this adds sufficient value at present, especially when I am not creating video posts myself (yet?) but that is always an option for the future

Thanks to Steven’s short guide, I have made sure that the existing comments were not lost but all posts going forward will be using the new system.

May 20, 2008 - Posted by | Blogging | ,

12 Comments »

  1. Glad to see you joined the Disqus family and that my little bit of a howto was of use.

    Comment by StevenHodson | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. Definitely, I could imagine going off half-cocked and saving the settings before choosing the correct option. Looking at the bigger picture I just think it makes sense to go this route.

    Comment by colinwalker | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. Another vote in favor of Disqus. Hm. Thanks for the link to Steven's post.

    Comment by Mark Dykeman | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  4. Yeah… I'm gonna hold off on this for my blogs. My issues are as follows:
    * Export only works if you can automate it. No one is going to remember to login to the control panel every week, let alone every day, and do a manual export.
    * They have no real business plan (that I can see) to be a long term profitable company. This is a big issue. I don't mind off-loading my data (I use gmail for apps for my domains, rather than self hosting it), but I do require some type of future plans that are realistic, and open.
    * No information on business continuity. Do they have off-site backups? Are they hourly, daily, weekly, etcetera… Do they have multiple geographically separate data centers?

    I will say that the idea of Disqus is great, and much like gmail killed large amounts of spam for email users, will go along way to killing spam in blog comments.

    Kevin

    Comment by Kevin | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  5. I think it's a good idea Colin… I would think the SEO benefits to be nominal compared to the advantages Discus provides, but Kevin has a very valid point. Be interested seeing how you find it…

    Comment by adondai | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  6. Kevin, Laurence – these are concerns that don't seem to get flagged (I can't remember seeing them discussed anywhere) and are probably worthy of being followed up. I would like to think that there are adequate backup facilities but perhaps it would be best to make sure.

    Comment by colinwalker | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  7. One other issue for me which I forgot… I use WP Syntax for highlighting code in my posts. This also allows for people commenting to use the same tags to highlight code in their comments… Not sure how this would work with Disqus

    Comment by Kevin | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  8. Welcome to Disqus, I don't think you will regret the switch any bit. You won't even miss the old style!

    Comment by Julian Baldwin | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  9. Sweet! I was wondering when it was gonna happen 🙂

    Comment by Shey | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  10. Daniel has confirmed that Disqus supports the “code” tag, and I have tested it and it does display the code segment in a non-justified font. However, it also seems to remove all the extra whitespace so the code gets pushed to the left.

    Comment by J. Phil | May 21, 2008 | Reply

  11. Looks nice Colin!

    Comment by J. Phil | May 21, 2008 | Reply

  12. Thanks Phil 🙂

    Comment by colinwalker | May 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

